The reason to celebrate

sunrise-hope01To be one of those who participate in the silver jubilee celebration of three of our sisters made me reminisce about those days when I too celebrated the same jubilee three years ago. That was just few months after our Marikina convent in the Philippines was devastated by typhoon “Ondoy”. Before that big event, I asked myself if it was right for us to celebrate when we knew that there were lots of people around us who were not able yet to recover from that calamity. But I told myself: is it not that we have more reasons instead to celebrate?

To celebrate God’s faithfulness, expressing our indescribable gratitude to Him should not be hindered by anything because we owe all of this to him.  It is just right that we tell the whole world of the wonders God has done for us. Whatever has happened around us is just an opportunity for us to reopen our eyes so that every event we want to celebrate becomes so much more deeply meaningful.

Sr. Marilyn Felizardo, fdz

Leave a Comment / Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.