God is our enough

Rejoice! God is enough

My heart exults in the Lord.  I find my strength in my God. (1 Sam 2:1)

Early one morning, I sat down before the Lord in our chapel, and joy came to my lips and my eyes smiled at God. His words were like a sword that touched my heart.  They were transported and uplifted to the innermost layers of my being.  I would like to quote some lines from the Book of Samuel that touched me the most:

My heart exults in the Lord. I find my strength in my God;  my mouth laughs at my enemies.  I rejoice in your saving help.  There is none like the Lord, there is none besides you. There is no Rock like our God (1 Sam 2:1-10).

How wonderful to know and experience the greatness of God’s love. He is a God who never will abandon us.  He guides us and gives us the necessary graces we need in times of joy or in sorrow.  Thus my whole being fills with joy as I listen to His words, so full of comfort and love. How marvellous to say “O God you are my enough.”  I will never be lacking, for you sustain me in your love!  Make me an instrument of your love, O Lord.

We are now in the season of Lent.  Lent is a moment of intensifying our prayers and our relationship with God.  Though others seem not to do this, for they have other concerns.  Respect I give to them, for each one is unique and has freedom of choice.  Fasting is another thing to consider that the Church has offered – self-denial of food, sweets, soft drinks or anything that we can give up for our brothers and sisters in need.  Lastly is charity wherein we can reach out to the less fortunate, the lonely, the elderly, the needy, the sick, the persecuted Christians and other people who are experiencing any kind of suffering.  Perhaps they are somewhere else in the world or nearby in our neighbourhood. Maybe they are just at our side.

Lord, as we continue our journey in this season of grace, may we constantly recognize your love, your mercy and comfort. May we live with joy in prayer, fasting and almsgiving.  Make our hearts humble and docile to the promptings of your Holy Spirit and may we receive the sacrament of Reconciliation.  Transform our hearts and make them like yours, O Lord.

Have you ever been in love?  In love with the Lord though you can’t see Him?  If you are, and most likely we all are, I salute you.  We, as God’s children, are called to love and serve Him in our brothers and sisters, Christian and non Christian alike. God is our enough!  He was the one who fought for us, died for us and won over death for us.  God bless everyone!

Leave a Reply

