My thanksgiving for the gift of vocation

Immaculate Mary. Based on image courtesy of turnbacktogod.com

On this day of the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, in 2016, I celebrate my 22nd year of Religious profession.   I cannot but rejoice with great thanksgiving in the Lord.  It is a year filled with blessings as His loving mercy and graces are poured upon me.  Graces poured not only this year but throughout these years of my journey in the religious life.

I feel awe and wonder at how God has loved me so much.  Over 22 years ago, He called me to be one of His followers through the religious life, though I am not worthy.  My vocation is a gift from Him and my heart sings with gratitude and joy.  It is a journey of faith and trust in Him.

Looking back at the different apostolates I have been entrusted with by the Mother Provincial and the Superiors, I am just amazed.  They all were opportunities to share in God’s mission here on earth.  A mission where I encountered all walks of life, especially with school children, the youth, Catechists, single mothers, babies, toddlers and adults.  Nothing is so great but to have dedication and love for the people entrusted to my care.

Through all these years, I acknowledge that there have been ups and downs along the way, but there is always peace and joy inside of me.  In my vocation and in the apostolates I have been part, I am in awe of God and, like Mary,  I sing with thanksgiving in my heart her words:

“My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour.” (Lk. 2:46-47)

To you O Lord I lift my gratitude and praise forever!

Yes, as I continue my journey I have nothing more to ask for because it is enough that God is with me – the Triune God who guides and helps me in doing His will.  My relationship with God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit is full of excitement.  This is a treasure that I have to keep safe in my heart with the constancy of faith, trust and love.

The deepest joy I feel within me is because the God who calls me to the Religious life is the One who taught me to love and trust Him wholeheartedly.  Each day, in the silence of my heart, I renew my love to Him by simply saying, “Lord, I love you.” In return I have the assurance of His love which keeps getting deeper and stronger inside of me.

I thank all the Daughters of Divine Zeal my religious family, formators, spiritual directors, friends, my immediate family and all the many unnamed but never forgotten people who have been part of my journey.  Above all, I thank God and Mary the Blessed Mother.  I will remain His forever. His love and fidelity is the joy and strength of my being.  May Jesus be glorified forever!

Graphic based on image courtesy of turnbacktogod.com

Leave a Reply

