With all my heart

Heart of Jesus on fire
ROGATE – Pray!

As we approach the Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus tomorrow, let us listen to Antonio Nocellado reflect upon St Annibale’s devotion to the divine Heart…

From the very beginning of the spiritual experience of St Annibale, the Devotion to the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus was his source of inspiration and constant point of reference in his mission and apostolic activities among the children and the poor of the Avignone District in Messina, Italy. As a Founder he exclaimed that the Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus is the titular feast of the Rogationists and Daughters of Divine Zeal.

St Annibale, in his writings, explained the significance of this great feast:

You know how this divine Heart is everything for us; we are consecrated to this divine Heart: to Him belongs the Foundation, all our poor labors, all our intentions. Our Houses, Orphanages, Boarding Houses, and everything belong to the Divine Heart. Therefore this feast is primary for us and we recommend strongly to all our Houses to celebrate with special love, devotion and fervor of love.

To penetrate the Most Holy Heart of Jesus is to feel its love, to espouse all its interest, to suffer all its pains, to share in its sacrifice…, especially by obeying that divine command of the Heart of Jesus when he said: The harvest is plentiful, but the labourers are few; therefore ask the Master of the harvest to send labourers into his harvest.

An Act of Consecration to the Sacred Heart of Jesus

O Most holy Heart of Jesus,
fountain of every blessing,
I adore You, I love You,
and with lively sorrow for my sins,
I offer you this poor heart of mine.

Make me humble, patient,
pure and wholly obedient to your will.
Grant, good Jesus, that I may live in You and for You.

Protect me in the midst of danger;
comfort me in my afflictions;
give me health of mind and body,
assistance in my temporal needs,
your blessing on all that I do
and the grace of a holy death.

Amen.

Reflection Source: The Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

Leave a Reply

