JESUS: The sweetest name of all

jesus-8283_640How many people truly adore JESUS’ Holy Name?  What is in that Name?

To aspirants who are new to the Congregation, it is a joy to witness and participate in the Novena in honour of the Most Holy Name of Jesus.  We read the story of St Annibale at Avignone, Messina in Italy, where he started an intensive life of prayer and charity by gathering the abandoned poor and orphans.  He was so convinced in Jesus’ promise that “whatever you ask the Father in my name he will give you.” (John 16:23)

I was touched at how St Annibale lived his life, bringing hope and faith to the people in his time.  I have learned that through his great devotion to the Most Holy Name of Jesus, he obtained what he needed amidst the stormy days of his life.  His devotion has been handed down to us and it makes me more grateful for all the many graces and blessings I have received – and, above all, to put Jesus at the centre of my life, the source of all good for whom I establish the bond of friendship.

In January we celebrate the Feast of the Most Holy Name of Jesus.  We, the Rogate Family, gather together to present to the most High God in the Name of His Son, Jesus our “Supplica” – recognising God’s innumerable blessings we have received.  What a marvellous work the Lord has done for us!  I thank God for giving us the greatest gift of all: Jesus.  I believe that what I ask in His Most Holy Name, He will give  as I learned from the life of St Annibale.

Glenda Galanido

Leave a Reply

