Say, “Yes, it’s time!”

In 1996 a co-teacher of mine invited me to give myself a day to go to a Vocation Search-in at the Daughters of Divine Zeal in Marikina, Philippines. I have always been amazed at how the nuns live their lives and quite drawn to anything spiritual – perhaps she sensed that in me – so I went. I was in my mid-20s at the time and, as an ordinary young woman, I was in search of what God wanted me to do with my life.   A year after search-in experience at the Daughters of Divine Zeal I met a man who later became my husband. I never thought I would have the chance to return to the FDZ Sisters more than 15 years after my first visit with them.

Sr Connie (my former co-teacher at Nuestra Señora de Aranzazu Parochial School way back in 1996) and I had few opportunities to see each other and when we did meet, we would discuss topics on Guidance and Testing in school. I felt the desire of Sr Connie to really improve the services of Padre Annibale School for its students and my desire to help was also very much present.  So, in 2009, I made the decision to resign from my job to work as a full-time mother to my two “angels”.  In May 2011 I received a call from Sr Connie about the possibility of working in Padre Annibale School as an English teacher and at the same time to do some guidance work.  It was as if I was talking to two people at the same time – Sr Connie and the Other telling me to just say “Yes, it’s time!”.

I was so excited because I never thought that I would be given the chance of working again in a school and I appreciated the fact that the grace of working in a Catholic School was where God always wanted me to be – always near Him.

Entering once more in that place where I stayed for that one day during my Vocation Search-in and coming for the second time  for one school year was somehow an experience of how God has always worked in my life. It is true that we make our own plans but He has the final say. Most of the time God speaks in the silence of our daily routines.  I just need to respond and have faith that it was made to happen for my own good and for the benefit of my soul and, of course, hoping that in my own little way I would be able to do my share in the fulfilment of God’s master plan.

I am so thankful to Saint Annibale that through his intercession my one-day Vocation Search-in had clarified what my vocation was to be – happily married and raising my two “angels” – two wonderful boys. And now I have been given the opportunity to hopefully fulfill what God wants me to do. This is also a chance for me to return God’s blessings in my life, in my own little way. I’m confident that something good will happen again… because God is really full of surprises.

Teacher Imelda C Chua

Leave a Reply

